Nothing To Say

I have received a few e-mails asking me “Where have you been?”  Well, there have been several reasons that I have been absent from Blogdom for a while – work, life, Daddy Duty (band stuff), and the need for a little “down time”, have all contributed to a lack of postings.

But the main reason I haven’t posted is because I have had nothing to say that someone hasn’t said already.

You would have to read all of my previous posts (including the archives) in order to understand my position on all of this, but my purpose here was not to chronicle the season, nor to win the “Most Prolific Blogger” Award.  This Blog thing is a hobby for me, and unfortunately there are only so many hours in a day.

I have posted comments to the Baltimore Sun, and sent an e-mail or two to the local sports reporters, but when I sit down to write something to post, I write it, read it, and say “who cares?”

I do wish the Os were playing better, but around here (at least according the people who are the most vocal) the solution is always to go get some better players and for Angelos to sell the team.  A few days ago, I posted the following comment to Roch Kubatko’s Blog on the Baltimore Sun’s site (BTW – Roch (pronounced Rock) is a Sun sports reporter):

I just don’t get it.

The 1971 Orioles had 4 twenty game winners.  The team was full of some of the most beloved Orioles of all time.  If you ask any Oriole’s fan to name 10 of the greatest Orioles, most of them were on this club.  Peter Angelos was not around. 

Baltimore loved that team.  According to most of the things I hear and read, the reason people don’t go to O’s games now is because they don’t have the things that the ’71 Orioles had – a winning team, All Star players, great pitching, and no Angelos.

If that’s true, then why did the Orioles average less than 13,000 for home games and didn’t even sell out Memorial Stadium for games 6 and 7 of the World Series that year?

I received a single response – We had the Colts back then.

I still don’t get it.

5 comments

  1. Kellia

    “I have posted comments to the Baltimore Sun, and sent an e-mail or two to the local sports reporters”

    Save time and still be here by cross-posting here what you write to the Sun or the reporters.

    “but when I sit down to write something to post, I write it, read it, and say “who cares?”

    Obviously, the people who are wondering where you are care. And if you will share your opinions with the readers of the Sun, why not with us?

    Palmer, Cuellar, McNally, was Flanagan the 4th? Plus the two Robinsons, Luis Aparicio and Boog Powell. That was a special era for the O’s.

    Kellia

    http://byrnesblog.mlblogs.com

  2. Daryl

    The forth was Pat Dobson. I think Flanagan showed up in about 1975.

    Most of my postings to the Sun wouldn’t make much sense here, because they wouldn’t be in context. They tend to be corrections of “factual errors”. Stuff like “We need to get rid of Player X because he always hits into double plays”, to which I respond “Player X has only hit into 2 double plays this year, while Player Y has hit into 9.” Besides, I don’t know how to “cross post” anyway.

    BTW – maybe Jorge has finally found a home. I hope so.

  3. dave

    Baseball is the greatest sport I know. But to me, on a par, is football (soccer to most of you). The greatest show on Earth (The World Cup) starts on Friday.
    It is still bigger than the olympics.

    I will be starting a totally new, non-baseball, blog for the duration of the competition.

    Please, one and all, come and join in the fun. Even if you know feck all, or even dislike the sport.

    It will be a fun 4 weeks folk..

    http://psycho.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

